Newton County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Newton County, Indiana)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Indiana


Newton County

Guide to Newton County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Newton County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 7, 1835
County Seat Kentland
Courthouse
Address Newton County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
PO Box 49
Kentland, IN 47951
Phone: 219-474-6081
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1860*
1882*
1838
1860
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries


Neighboring Counties

Lake  • Jasper  • Benton  • Iroquois  • Kankakee


Newton CountyWhite CountyWarren CountyFountain CountyJasper CountyTippecanoe CountyLa Porte CountyKankakee CountyPorter CountyWill CountyLake CountyVermilion CountyCook CountyIroquois CountyPulaski CountyStarke CountyFord CountyLivingston CountyBenton CountyINNewton.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

"The original Newton County was formed by statute on February 7, 1835, and was a roughly square area some 30 miles on a side, encompassing what is now the northern half of the county, the northern half of Jasper County, and a large section to the north. The northern border was cut back to the Kankakee River on February 1, 1836, with all land north of the Kankakee River going to Lake and Porter counties. The county was abolished and combined with Jasper County in 1839. On December 8, 1859, the county was re-created and the borders were redrawn to essentially their current state." [3]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Beaver City Cemetery (Aka: Smith Cemetery)
Buswell Cemetery, Kentland (Aka: Mount Zion)
Doran Cemetery
Fairlawn Cemetery, Kentland
Goodland Cemetery, Goodland
Kennedy Cemetery
Lake Village Cemetery, Lake Village  (Aka: Lake Township Cemetery)
Morgan Cemetery (Aka: Tracey Cemetery)
Morocco Cemetery, Morocco
Mount Calvary, Goodland
Murphy Cemetery, Morocco (Aka: West Cemetery)
North Star Cemetery, Mount Ayr
Oakland Cemetery, Morocco (Aka: North Cemetery)
Pleasant Grove Cemetery
Porter Cemetery, Morocco
Prairie Vine Cemetery, Morocco
Riverside Cemetery, Brook 
Roselawn Cemetery, Roselawn (Aka: Lincoln Township Cemetery)
Russell Chapel Cemetery
Saint Josephs Cemetery, Kentland
Sell Cemetery, Brook
Saints Peter & Paul Cemetery, Goodland


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Newton County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Newton County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Newton County Courthouse
201 N. 3rd Street
PO Box 49
Kentland, IN 47951
Phone: 219-474-6081
Fax: 219-474-5749
Hours: 8AM-4PM

Assessor, Clerk, Recorder, Treasurer and Circuit Superior Court: Criminal Court Records, Civil, Small Claims, Probate

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

History

Local Histories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Newton County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Newton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Newton County.

Civil War Books

World War I

World War II

Naturalization

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupations

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Records


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Newton County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records

Voter Registration

Repositories

Archives

County Courthouse

Newton County Courthouse
Courthouse Square; PO Box 49
Kentland, IN 47951
Phone: 219-474-6081

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1860. County Health Department has birth and death records from 1882. County Recorder has land records from 1860. [4]

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Newton County Historical Society
508 N Third Street
Kentland, IN 47951

Newton County Historical Society
PO Box 303
310 Seymour Street
Kentland, IN 47951
Telephone Number: 219-474-6944
E-mail: newtonhs@ffni.com
Website


Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Newton County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Newton County, Indiana Genealogy County Clerk with divorce records located with the Newton County, Indiana Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Newton County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites


Places

Brook, IN
Goodland, IN
Kentland, IN
Lake Village, IN
Mount Ayr, IN
Roselawn, IN
Sumava Resorts, IN
Thayer, IN


References

  1. Ancestry.com wiki contributors, "Newton County, Indiana" in Ancestry.com: Wiki at http://www.ancestry.com/wiki/index.php?title=Newton _County,_Indiana (accessed 4 August 2012).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Newton County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newton_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Newton County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newton_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Newton County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.


Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Newton_County,_Indiana_Genealogy&oldid=2757890"