Newton County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Newton County, Texas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Texas
Newton County

Guide to Newton County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png


Newton County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Newton County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 22 April, 1846
County Seat Newton
Courthouse
TexasNewtonCourthouse.jpg
Address Newton County Courthouse
P O Box 484
Newton, Texas 75966
Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


County Information

County Courthouse

Newton County Courthouse
P O Box 484
Newton, Texas 75966
Phone: 409-379-5341

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903, marriage records from 1846, probate records from 1870 court and land records[1]

County Clerk

P.O. Box 484
Newton 75966
Phone: 409-379-5341
Fax: 409-379-9049


District Clerk

P.O. Box 535
Newton 75966
Phone: 409-379-3951
Fax: 409-379-9087


Newton County has had two county seats:  Burkeville, 1849-1853, and Newton 1853-present. [2]

Newton County Courthouse
109 Court Street
P.O. Drawer J
Newton, Texas 75966
Newton County Government Website

Inventory of county records, Newton County Courthouse, Newton, Texas, 1978, by the Newton County Historical Commission, contains an inventory of records housed in the Newton County Courthouse and describes the records of the Commissioners' Court, County Clerk, County Court, County Attorney, District Clerk, Justice of the Peace, Sheriff, Tax Assessor-Collector, County Auditor, County Treasurer, County Superintendent of Schools, and Water Supply District. Read the book online from The Portal to Texas History.

Newton County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1846 1850 1846 1846

History

1834--Settled as early as 1834.

Parent County

1846--Newton County was created 22 April 1846 from Jasper County.

  • County seat: Newton [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

2000--Newton County Courthouse, built in 1902, burned on August 4, 2000. The Courthouse was rebuilt and restored in 2002.

Places / Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Beauregard Parish, Louisiana  • Calcasieu Parish, Louisiana  • Jasper  • Orange  • Sabine  • Sabine Parish, Louisiana  • Vernon Parish, Louisiana

Sabine CountySabine CountyVernon CountyBeauregard CountyJasper CountyNewton CountyOrange CountyCalcasieu CountyTX NEWTON.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
Billion Graves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
Billion Graves (cemetery) TX Gravestones
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Newton County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • Glimpses of Newton County History, 1982, by the Newton County Historical Commission.
  • Newton County History from The Handbook of Texas Online.

Maps

Txnewton.jpg

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War
World War I

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Newton County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 FamilySearch record collection

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

  • Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
  • FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Newton County, Texas. Page 671 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handbook of Texas Online: Newton County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcn03
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).