Nicaragua Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nicaragua)
Jump to: navigation, search

Central America Gotoarrow.png Nicaragua

Nicaragua Wiki Topics
Nicaragua flag 300.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Nicaragua Background
Local Research Resources
The FamilySearch moderator for Nicaragua is Dwsmith2

Guide to Nicaragua ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Nicaragua is a country in Central America bordered by Honduras and Costa Rica. It was formerly a colony of Spain. The official language is Spanish.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Nicaragua Research

Links to articles on getting started with Nicaragua research.

Nicaragua Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Nicaragua research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Nicaragua Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Nicaragua.

Nicaragua admin divisions map.png


Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Nicaragua. Departments:

  • Boaco
  • Carazo
  • Chinandega
  • Chontales
  • Estelí
  • Granada
  • Jinotega
  • León
  • Madriz
  • Managua
  • Masaya
  • Matagalpa
  • Nueva Segovia
  • Rivas
  • Río San Juan
  • North Caribbean Coast Autonomous Region
  • South Caribbean Coast Autonomous Region

Online Records

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Nicaragua," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 25 April 2016.