Nigeria Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nigeria)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Nigeria

Nigeria Wiki Topics
Flag of Nigeria.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Nigeria Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Nigeria is a country in Africa bordered by Benin, Chad, Cameroon, and Niger. It was formerly ruled by Great Britain. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Nigeria Research

Links to articles on getting started with Nigeria research.

Nigeria Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Nigeria research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Nigeria Map




SokotoKebbiZamfaraKatsinaKanoJigawaYobeAdamawaNigerKadunaBauchiGombeBornoPlateauAbujaNasarawaKwaraOyoOsunEkitiKogiBenueTarabaOgunLagosOndoEdoDeltaAnambraEnuguEbonyiCross RiverBayelsaImoAbiaRiversAkwa IbomNigeria States.png
About this image




Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Nigeria. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Beside Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), there are 36 states in the country of Nigeria:

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Nigeria," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigeria, accessed 25 April 2016.