Niton, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Niton, Hampshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Niton

Guide to Niton, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Niton, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Medina Liberty
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Isle of Wight
Registration District Isle of Wight
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East Medine
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History

NITON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the liberty of East Medina, Isle of Wight division of the county of Southampton, 8 miles (S.) from Newport. There is a place of worship for Baptists.[1].


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS =
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[7]
NITON PARISH Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

FREG 1561-1812
FS 1559-1894



PRTS 1780-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288807.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 416-421.Date accessed: 09 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 12 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  5. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.