Niue Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Niue)
Jump to: navigation, search
Nigeria Wiki Topics
Flag of Nigeria.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Nigeria Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Pacific Gotoarrow.png Niue

Guide to Niue ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Niue is an island country in the Pacific Ocean whose nearest neighbors are New Zealand, Tonga, Samoa, and the Cook Islands. It was formerly ruled by Great Britain, France, and New Zealand. The official languages are Niuean and English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Niue Research

Links to articles on getting started with Niue research.

Niue Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Niue research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Niue Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Niue.

Administrative village boundaries

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Niue.

No. Village Population
(Census 2001)
Area[2]
km²
Pop. Density
(km−2)
Motu (historical tribal area in the north)
1 Makefu 87 17.13 5.1
2 Tuapa 129 12.54 10.3
3 Namukulu 14 1.48 9.5
4 Hikutavake 65 10.17 6.4
5 Toi 31 4.77 6.5
6 Mutalau 133 26.31 5.1
7 Lakepa 88 21.58 4.1
8 Liku 73 41.64 1.8
Tafiti (historical tribal area in the south)
9 Hakupu 227 48.04 4.7
10 Vaiea 62 5.40 11.5
11 Avatele 150 13.99 8.9
12 Tamakautoga 140 11.93 11.7
13 Alofi South 358 46.48 13.2
14 Alofi North 256
Niue 1788 261.46 6.8

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Niue," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Niue, accessed 25 April 2016.
  2. http://www.spc.int/prism/country/NU/stats/Nu_Environment/NU_Land/Land.htm The Total Land Area of Niue