Noble County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Noble County, Indiana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Noble County

Guide to Noble County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Noble County, Indiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Founded February 7, 1835
County Seat Albion
Noble County Indiana Courthouse.jpg
Address Noble County Courthouse
101 N Orange Street
Albion, IN 46701-1097
Phone: 219.636.2736
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Neighboring Counties

Elkhart  • La Grange  • Steuben  • DeKalb  • Allen  • Whitley  • Kosciusko

Noble CountyDeKalb CountyLa Grange CountyWhitley CountyElkhart CountyMiami CountyAllen CountyKosciusko CountyFulton CountyHuntington CountyWabash CountySteuben CountyINNoble.JPG

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

1843 and 1859 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Bible Records



Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Noble County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Noble County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups




Local Histories

  • Counties of La Grange and Noble, Indiana: Historical and Biographical. (Salem, Mass: Higginson Book Co, 1993.) 977.27 H2c FHL US/CAN Book other libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Alvord, Samuel E., Alvord's history of Noble County, Indiana: to which is appended a comprehensive compendium of local biography - memoirs of representative men and women of the county, whose works of merit have made their names imperishable, (Reprint. Originally published: Logansport, Indiana: B. F. Bowen, Publisher, 1902. 602, 53 p.[76] leaves. ill., facsims., ports.)977.276 H2a FHL US/CAN Book INTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Noble County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Noble County.

Civil War Book

  • "The First Call for Troops" in Counties of La Grange and Noble, Indiana: Historical and Biographicall. (Salem, Mass: Higginson Book Co, 1993.) 977.27 H2c FHL US/CAN Book page 89-116,FHL Collection other library INTERNET ARCHIVE

World War I

World War II

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Noble County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:




Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Records

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Noble County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records

Voter Registration



County Courthouse

Noble County Courthouse
Noble County Indiana Courthouse.jpg

101 N Orange Street
Albion, IN 46701-1097
Phone: 219.636.2736

County Health Department has birth and death records. County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1859. County Auditor has land records. City Clerk has burial records. [3]

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.




Kendallville Historical Society
(Mid-America Windmill Museum)
PO Box 5048
732 Allen Chapel Rd
Kendallville, IN 46755-5048
Telephone Number: 260-347-2334

Ligonier Historical Society And Museum
300 S. Main St.
Ligonier, IN 46767-1812
Telephone Number: 219-894-75

Noble County Historical Society
PO Box 152
Albion, IN 46701-0152
Telephone Number: 260-636-3929

Stone's Trace Historical Society
5111 Lincolnway South
Ligonier, IN 46767
Telephone Number: 260-856-2871

Noble County Genealogical Society
109 North York Street
Albion, IN 46701


Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Noble County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Noble County, Indiana Genealogy County Clerk with divorce records located with the Noble County, Indiana Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

  • Noble County Vital Records Site.This site includes Divorces, Obituaries, Biographies, Guardianship, Probate Index, Births, Deaths, Marriages, School Records, Military, Cemeteries, Settlers, Census, Neighbors, and Wills Index.

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Noble County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites



  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Noble County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Noble County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.