Nodaway County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nodaway County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Nodaway County

Guide to Nodaway County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Nodaway County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 2, 1841
County Seat Maryville
Courthouse
MissouriNodawayCourthouse.jpg
Address Nodaway County Courthouse
305 N Main Street
Maryville, MO 64468-0218
Phone: 660.582.2251
Nodaway County Website


County Information

Nodaway County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1845 1883 1850 1845 1845

County Courthouse

Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage and divorce records from 1845; Probate Court has probate records. [2]

History

Parent County

1841 Nodaway County was created 2 January 1843 from Andrew County. County seat: Maryville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Andrew  • Atchison  • Gentry  • Holt  • Page County, Iowa  • Taylor County, Iowa  • Worth

Worth CountyNodaway CountyGentry CountyDeKalb CountyAndrew CountyPage CountyNemaha CountyFremont CountyAtchison CountyRinggold CountyPawnee CountyCass CountyDoniphan CountyOtoe CountyTaylor CountyBrown CountyNemaha CountyRichardson CountyHolt CountyMONodaway2.JPG



Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
MOInterment
MOGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Delores, Ravenwood

  • 1862 - 1876 Delores, Ravenwood, Baptism Index 1862-1876. Batch C515011 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1868 - 1885 Delores, Ravenwood, Marriage Index 1868-1885. Batch M515011 at FamilySearch - free.

St. Columban, Conception

  • 1858 - 1876 St. Columban, Conception, Baptism Index 1858-1876. Batch C511861 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1860 - 1885 St. Columban, Conception, Marriage Index 1860-1885. Batch M511861 at FamilySearch - free.

St. Mary, Maryville

  • 1869 - 1876 St. Mary, Maryville, Baptism Index 1874-1875. Batch C511871 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1870 - 1882 St. Mary, Maryville, Marriage Index 1870-1882. Batch M511871 at FamilySearch - free.
Presbyterian

Graham

  • 1871 - 1894 Graham Presbyterian Church Baptism Index 1871-1894. Batch C530941 at FamilySearch - free.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Nodaway County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A Biographical History of Nodaway and Atchison counties, Missouri compendium of national biography (1901) is available online free from Google Books. Part I contains biographies of national celebrities. Part II (starts on p.219) contains biographies of Atchison and Nodaway county residents.

  • The History of Nodaway County, Missouri : containing a history of the county, its cities, towns, etc., biographical sketches of its citizens, Nodaway County in the late war, general and local statistics, portraits of early settlers and prominent men, history of Missouri, map of Nodaway County, etc., etc.. St. Joseph, Mo. : National Historical, 1882.
  • "Past and present of Nodaway County, Missouri". Indianapolis : B. F. Bowen, 1910.

Maps

Monodaway.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Nodaway County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Nodaway County, Missouri:

- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company H
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Nodaway County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Society

The Nodaway County Historical Society
110 N. Walnut, Box 324
Maryville, MO 64468
Phone: 660-582-8176
Email: nodawaymuseumresearch@embarqmail.com
Website
Facebook


Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Library

  • Maryvile Public Library
    509 N. Main St.
    Maryville, MO 64468
    Phone: 660-582-5281
    Website

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Nodaway County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Nodaway County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Nodaway Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Nodaway County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Nodaway County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Nodaway County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nodaway County, Missouri. Page 403 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.