Norra Hestra parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Norra Hestra parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngJönköping County Gotoarrow.pngNorra Hestra parish


Guide to Norra Hestra parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

Name of Parish was Hestra but after 17 April 1885 the parish was known as Norra Hestra.' (write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Norra Hestra
Jurisdictions
Stift Skara
Pastorat -1961 Stengårdshult, Norra Unnaryd, Öreryd, Norra Hestra and Valdshult, 1962- Norra Hestra, Stengårdshult, Norra Unnaryd, Öreryd and Valdshult.
Län -1886 Jönköpings län and Älvsborgs län (Bönabo), 1887- Jönköpings län.
Landskap Småland
Härad -1886 Mo (majority of parish) and Kinds härad (lesser partl), 1887 - Mo härad
Tingslag -1886 Mo (part) and Kind (part)1887-1890 Mo, 1891-1970 Tveta, Vista, Mo
Domsaga 1971- Värnamo tingsrätt
Fögderi 1720-1945 Tveta, Vista and Mo, 1946-1966 Jönköping, 1967- Reftele
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun 1863-1951 Norra Hestra, 1952-1970 Södra Mo, 1971- Gislaved
Militär indelning Smålands Grenadier-Bataljon
Jönköpings Kompani
Jönköpings Regemente
Mo Härads Kompani
NAD Ref Code SE/VALA/00262


Place Names

Assarebo,
Backstuga untan namn under Vik, Backstuga utan namn under Äspås Norrgård, Bergagärde, Brännhult (Bränhult), Bäckhult, Bäckåsen, Bönabo, Bösshult,
Espås (Äspås) Norrgård, Espås (Äspås) Södergård,
Flahult,
Hagen, hansabo, Hestra Lilla, Hestra Stora,
Ingelsbo, Ingemarsgården,
Jutabäcken,
Klinten, Knekttorp utan namn under Flahult, Knekttorp utan namn under Vik, Kulvås, Kyrkebo, Källåsen, Kärrebo (Kjerrebo),
Ljungstorp, Lilla Hestra, Lugnet, Lövås,
Mansabo,
Norrgården Äspås,
Rängsjötorp (Rengsjötorp),
Skjutsebo, Skönabo (Skjönabo), Slättåsen, snärebo, Sprottebo, Stackebo, Stocken, Stora Hestra, Strand, Soldattorp Ljungstorp under Ingelsbo, Soldattorp utan namn under Stora hestra, Södergården Äspås,
Trippebo,
Vik
Äspås (Espås) Norrgård, Äspås (Espås) Södergård

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Jönköping Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Jönköping" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Norra Hestra, Husförhörslängd 1841-1855, Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Norra Hestra Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD).July 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/