North Bovey, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from North Bovey, Devon)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to North Bovey, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Bovey, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Teignbridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot
Registration District Newton Abbot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Moreton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

BOVEY, NORTH (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Newton-Abbot, hundred of Teignbridge, Crockernwell and S. divisions of Devon, 1¾ mile (S. W. by S.) from Moreton-Hampstead comprising 4299 acres, of which 2780 are common or waste.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

North Bovey, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
North Bovey, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IARC 1612-1630
1612-1630
1612-1630
IGI 1572-1791
1572-1775


Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241324.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

North Bovey on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 317-320. Date accessed: 23 July 2013
  2. Roger Granville and W.E. Mugford, Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644 (Exeter: William Pollard and Co. Ltd., 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.