North Collingham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to North Collingham, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Parish History

North Collingham, Nottinghamshire
North Collingham All Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg
North Collingham All Saints Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newark
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

COLLINGHAM, NORTH (All Saints), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Newark, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Newark. The Particular Baptists have a place of worship.[1]

Additional information:

North Collingham All Saints in Low Street Collingham is one of two Anglican churches in Collingham. See South Collingham, Nottinghamshire The parish boundary forms part of the coutny boundary with Lincolnshire neighbours Swinderby, Lincolnshire and Norton Disney, Lincolnshire

The church dates from the 12th century and has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building

For information about the village of Collingham Collingham Wikipedia


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district

Certificates can be obtained from:

The Register Office
County Offices
Balderton Gate
NG24 1UW
01636 705455
01636 679259

Church records

North Collingham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1558-1901 Marriages 1571-1953 Burials 1558-1841 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Collingham, North

North Collingham.  A transcription of memorial inscriptions dating from 1703, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age. Original at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/5, and thranscription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, page 17, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


North Collingham in GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 28 January 2015.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.