North Korea Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from North Korea)
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia Gotoarrow.png North Korea

North Korea Wiki Topics
Flag of North Korea.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
North Korea Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to North Korea ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

North Korea is a country in Asia bordered by South Korea, China, and Russia. The official language is Korean.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with North Korea Research

Links to articles on getting started with North Korea research.

North Korea Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in North Korea research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

North Korea Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in North Korea.

Pyonganbuk ProvinceChagang ProvinceRyanggang ProvinceHamgyongbuk ProvinceRason ProvinceHamgyongnam ProvinceSouth KoreaKangwon ProvinceHwanghaebuk ProvinceHwanghaenam ProvincePyongyang ProvincePyongannam ProvincePyongannam ProvinceChinaNorthkoreaprovinces.jpg


Genealogy records are kept on the local level in North Korea. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "North Korea," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 25 April 2015.