North Molton, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from North Molton, Devon)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to North Molton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Molton, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Molton
County Devon
Poor Law Union South Molton
Registration District South Molton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Molton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

MOLTON, NORTH (All Saints), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union and hundred of South Molton, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from South Molton. There were formerly three chapels of ease in the parish, at South Radworthy, Holywell, and Ben-Twitchen; the last had in 1772 been converted into a dwelling-house. In 1715 the Presbyterians had a meeting-house at North Molton: at present, the Independents and Wesleyans have places of worship.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

North Molton, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
North Molton, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1539-1850
1539-1571, 1606-1850

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Presbyterian
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241317.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


North Molton on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 329-332. Date accessed: 23 July 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.