North Thoresby, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
North Thoresby

Guide to North Thoresby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Thoresby, Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bradley Haverstoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Louth
Registration District Louth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1552
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grimsby
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

THORESBY, NORTH (St. Helen),a parish, in the union of Louth, wapentake of Bradley-Haverstoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 8 miles (N. by W.) from Louth. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]

THORESBY (North), a parish, with a village, in Louth district, Lincoln; on the East Lincoln railway, 8 miles N by W of Louth. It has a post-office under Louth, and a r. station. There are two Methodist chapels.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms North Thoresby Par 1 will identify available images. Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Thoresby, North

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438769.

See Lincolnshire Census 

Poor Law Unions

Louth Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. England Jurisdictions 1851 Vision of Britain

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/NorthThoresby/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 06 September 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 06 September 2013.