North Tidworth, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from North Tidworth, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png North Tidworth

Guide to North Tidworth, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Tidworth, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Andover
Registration District Andover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1700
Bishop's Transcripts: 1620
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

TIDWORTH, NORTH (Holy Trinity), a parish,with a village in the union of Andover, hundred of Amesbury, Everley and Pewsey. It is in the S. divisions of Wiltshire, 2½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Ludgershall and 5¾ NNW of Grateley railway station. [1] [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

North Tidworth, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
North Tidworth, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NIM
1628-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464192.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 357-360. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  3. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.