Northampton All Saints, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Northamptonshire
Northamptonshire Parishes
Northampton All Saints


Guide to Northampton All Saints, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Northampton All Saints, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northampton
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Northampton
Registration District Northampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1708; Separate records exist for Northampton Infirmiry beginning 1827 and for Northampton St John the Baptist Hospital beginning 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Northampton
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

NORTHAMPTON, a borough and market-town, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Spelhoe, S. division of the county of Northampton, of which it is the chief town, 66 miles (N. W. by N.) from London, on the road to Leicester. This place, from its situation to the north of the river Nene (termed by Camden the Avon, and more anciently known as the Aufona), is by some antiquaries supposed to have been called North Aufonton, of which they consider its present name to be a contraction; by others it is said to have been known to the Saxons as Hamtune, and to have received the prefix North to distinguish it. The last parliament held here was summoned in the fourth year of the reign of Richard II. This parliament, together with the convocation of Canterbury, sat in the chancel of All Hallows' church, now All Saints', the castle having fallen into a ruinous state. The town is pleasantly situated on the acclivity of an eminence rising gradually from the north bank of the river Nene, over which are two bridges of stone, that to the south being a good structure of three elliptic arches. The borough comprises the parishes of All Saints, St. Giles, St. Peter, 1029, and St. Sepulchre. There were formerly seven parochial churches within the walls and two without, of which only four are remaining. St. Catherine's church, in the parish of All Saints, built by subscription was consecrated October 10th, 1839. The parish of St. Giles comprises about 800 acres, of which 100 consist of meadow watered by the river Nene on the south. A church district named St. Edmund's was formed out of St. Giles' parish in 1846 by the Ecclesiastical Commission: the living is in the gift of the Crown and the Bishop of Peterborough, alternately. The living of St. Peter's is a rectory. Governors of St. Katherine's Hospital, London. The living of St. Sepulchre's is a discharged vicarage. The church is thought to have been built by the Knights Templars, after the model of the church of the Holy Sepulchre at Jerusalem, and is one of four buildings of that kind remaining in the kingdom: it is of circular form, with a cupola in the centre of the roof, which is supported on eight round Norman columns and plain pointed arches; there is also a western tower surmounted by a spire. A handsome church, called St. Andrew's, has lately been consecrated in the parish. Among the Monastic institutions that existed here, were, the priory of St. Andrew, founded about 1076. There are places of worship in the town for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Huntingtonians, Independents, and Wesleyans. At the northern extremity of St. Sepulchre's parish, stands the Roman Catholic collegiate chapel of St. Felix, named after the apostle of the East Angles in the 7th century.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Northampton All Saints, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Northampton All Saints, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1870 1813-1870 1813-1870 1813-1870
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1904 1813-1904
FREG 1560-1619, 1722-1812 1559-1639, 1722-1754, 1813-1837, 1861-1870 1559-1619, 1722-1812

Marriages from 1665 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438882.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Finney, Janet.  A Short History of the Hemmings.  History and family names of John Hemming and nee Ann Harris and the following surnames, Green, Smith, Whitney, Blunt, Jones, in the following areas Gloucestershire, Oxfordshire, Northampton, North Wales.  Article dated from 1731-1910, and is found in Fottprints (Northamptonshire Family History Society Magazine)Nov 2010. vol. 33. no. 2. pages 18-24, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo v.33.no2

Harris, Pat. My Mackerness Family. History of John Makernes and Elizabeth surname unknown, and their descendants who move to Northampton, Cambridgeshire - Finedon, Hertfordshire, Stevenage, Huntingdon - Elton, and a branch going to Australia, New South Wales, and a branch going to Barbados and onto USA - Virginia. Surnames also mentioned are Deacon, Abbeline, Sutton, Bayes, Rock, Wilson. Article dates range from 1460-1957, and is found in Footprints (Northamptonshire Family History Society Magazine) vol. 26,no.4,pages 31-34, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol. 26

Clarke, Sheila M.  Does Anyone Else Out there Belong to Joseph?  Family tree of Joseph Robbins (Robins) 1742  and Sarah Lyon of Clifton Raynes, Buckinghamshire. and descendants some of whom were born in Ravenstone, Buckinghamshire. Surnames Butlin, Watson, Ward, Clarke. Article dated 1742-1932, and is to be found in Footprints, vol.18,no4, pages 44-46, Family History Library Reference 942.55 D25fo vo.18.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 28 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.