Northern Territory, Australia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Australia and Oceania
Australia
Northern Territory

Guide to Northern Territory, Australia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Northern Territory Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Record Types
Northern Territory Background
Local Research Resources
Northern Territory

Background Information

The Northern Territory was originally part of New South Wales. It was annexed to South Australia in 1863 then the Commonwealth assumed administration in 1911. The capital is Darwin.

Getting started with Northern Territory research

If your family or ancestors lived in the Northern Territory before 1863, you should also search records of New South Wales. If they lived in the Northern Territory between 1863 and 1911, you should also search records of South Australia. For information about the records of the Northern Territory, click on one of the topic links at the left.

Numerous articles are available on FamilySearch Wiki to help you get started in family history. This portal will provide links to articles about general research topics.

Water Bluff Waterhole at Pungalina, Northern Territory
Principles of Family History Research
  1. Identify What You Know
  2. Decide What You Want to Learn
  3. Select Records to Search
  4. Obtain and Search the Records
  5. Use the Information

Genealogy

Pickup, Albert.  Pickup of Darwin,  History and family tree of John Pickup and Hanna Eccles that lived in Lancashire, Rossendale, with a branch emigrating to Australia.  The following surnames are also listed, Green, Shorrock, Biggs, Watson, Gregory, Watson, Cooper, Burry, Jepson, Entwhistle, Hawsworth, Gadfield, Hayes, Smith, English, Glover, Stevens, Sigge, and Walker, dating 1723-1953.  Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 6, no.2, pages 17-20, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Jurisdictions

  • Melville Island
  • Groote Eylandt

Navigation menu