Northmoor, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Northmoor, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Northmoor, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Northmoor, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chadlington
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Witney
Registration District Witney
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1682; 1720
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witney
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

NORTHMOOR (St. Denis), a parish, in the union of Witney, hundred of Chadlington, county of Oxford, 6¾ miles (W. S. W.) from Oxford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Northmoor parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FAMR = Family Relatives - (£)[2]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free[3]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
NORTHMOOR PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FAMR
1654-1837

FSBOOK
1654-1837

OFHS 1653-1899
1654-1840
1653-1899
PALL
1800-1837

TGEN 1654-1837
1654-1837
1654-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474573.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 433-439. Date accessed: 24 September 2012.
  2. W.P.W. Phillimore, Oxfordshire Parish Registers, Volume 2 (London: Phillimore and Co., 1910). Digitised by Family Relatives - (£).
  3. W.P.W. Phillimore, Oxfordshire Parish Registers, Volume 2 (London: Phillimore and Co., 1910). Digitised by FamilySearch Books - free.
  4. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.