Northop, Flintshire Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Northop, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
"NORTHOP (NORTH-HOPE), a parish in the Northop division of the hundred of Coleshill, county of Flint, 3 miles (N. by E.) from Mold, and 3 (S.by E.) from Flint, containing 3026 inhabitants. This place, which has obtained its present appellation in contradistinction to East, or Queen's Hope, was by the Welsh called "Llan-Eurgain," from the dedication of its first church to St. Eurgain, niece of St. Asaph, the second bishop of the see which from him derived its name. The parish, which is of very considerable extent, is situated on the estuary of the Dee, by which it is bounded on the north-east, and is traversed by the roads from Chester to Holyhead, and from Mold to Holywell, which cross each other near the church. .... The village, which is large, is pleasantly situated in a fertile and beautiful tract of country, abounding with finely varied and highly picturesque scenery, and is surrounded on all sides by elegant villas and handsome seats, inhabited by opulent families. .... The present church, erected in 1571, and dedicated to St. Peter, is a spacious and embattled structure, with a lofty and elegant tower, ninety-eight feet high, and consists of a nave, chancel, and north aisle..." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]
For more information on Northop see: Genuki - Northop
|before 31 March 1974||Flintshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996||Flintshire|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464323.