Northumberland County, New Brunswick Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
New Brunswick Research Topics
New Brunswick Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
New Brunswick Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
New Brunswick
Northumberland County

Guide to Northumberland county ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Map of New Brunswick Northumberland.png

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

Located in east central New Brunswick, Northumberland County was one of the original eight counties. The parishes of Newcastle and Alnwick were erected in 1786. Glenelg, Chatham, Nelson, Ludlow and Northesk were established in 1814. Also established in 1814 were Saumarez and Beresford, which became Gloucester County in 1826, and Wellington and Carleton, which became Kent County in 1826. Blissfield and Blackville were set off from Ludlow in 1830; Hardwicke from Glenelg in 1851; Derby was set off from Nelson in 1859, Southesk from Northesk in 1879, and Rogersville from Nelson in 1881.[1]

Maps and Gazetteers


Populated Places

1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

Alnwick        Link   Link
Baie-Sainte-Anne         Link   Link
Barnaby River         Link   Link
Bartibog Bridge         Link   Link
Bay du Vin Vin        Link   Link
Black River        Link   Link
Blackville        Link   Link
Blissfield         Link   Link
Boiestown         Link   Link
Brantville         Link   Link
Burnt Church          Link   Link
Chatham        Link   Link
Derby           Link   Link
Doaktown         Link   Link
Douglastown        Link   Link 
Forks           Link
Glenelg        Link   Link
Gray Rapids        Link   Link
Hardwicke       Link   Link
Howard         Link   Link
Lagacéville         Link   Link
Loggieville          Link   Link
Ludlow        Link   Link
Millerton         Link   Link
Miramichi        Link   Link
Nelson         Link   Link
Nelson-Miramichi        Link   Link
Newcastle        Link   Link
Northesk       Link   Link
Nowlanville          Link   Link
Néguac      Link   Link
Renous         Link  Link
Rogersville       Link   Link
Southesk         Link   Link
Sunny Corner      Link   Link
Tabusintac         Link   Link

Neighboring Counties

Restigouche County * Gloucester County * Kent County * Queens County * Sunbury County * York County * Carleton County * Victoria County

Civil Registrations

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records

Census

In Canada, census returns are closed for 92 years after the time of enumeration. Census returns prior to 1851 are rarely complete for any area. Due to boundary changes, census records may be found in Nova Scotia records.

Online Searchable Databases, Books and Images

Year Name of Collection Where Available

1671

Acadian genealogy exchange - v. 5, no. 4 Oct 1976;

FamilySearch Books Online Acadian Families in 1671 begins on page 118
At various libraries (WorldCat)

1708 East Coast of Arcadia 1708 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1714 Acadian families in 1714 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1770 Nova Scotia 1770 census Rootsweb
Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
1783 1783 Studholm Report CensusFinder, index.
1785 Cape Ann Association Of Loyalists - 1785 Rootsweb
[Return of Persons who have Lands located to them on Schodiack River above the Glebe, 10 May 1785 Genweb]
1788 Moncton Township Settlers 1788 Rootsweb
1800-1842 Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842 Ancestry ($)
1804 Scotch Emigrants - 1804 Rootsweb
1811-1818 Nova Scotia Census Returns, 1811, 1817 and 1818 Nova Scotia Archives
1827 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1827 Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
WorldCat
1838 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1838 Nova Scotia Archives
1851 Canada Census, 1851 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1861 Census of Canada, 1861 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871 Census of Canada, 1871 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871-1901 Jewish residents of the Maritime provinces in the 1871-1901 censuses of Canada FamilySearch
WorldCat
1881 Census of Canada, 1881 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1891 Census of Canada, 1891 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1901 Census of Canada, 1901 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1911 Census of Canada, 1911 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1921 Census of Canada, 1921 Ancestry ($)



Church Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print
List of Cemeteries in the County

Court Records

Wills and Probate

Directories

Immigration Records =

Land Records

Military Records

Newspapers and Obituaries

Taxation Records

Repositories


Websites

References

  1. Northumberland County Genealogical Guide, http://archives.gnb.ca/Documents/CountyGuides/Northumberland_en-CA.pdf, April 5, 2017.
  2. We Lived, a Genealogical Newsletter of New Brunswick Sources, 1979-1983, Cleadie B. Barnett, Editor & Publisher