Norton, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Norton, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Norton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norton, Derbyshire
Norton St James Derbyshire.jpg
Norton St James Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield
Registration District Ecclesall Bierlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1659
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brampton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

Norton, St. James, an Ancient Parish, in the union of Ecclesall-Bierlowin, county Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Backmoor, Greenhill, Hemsworth, Maugerhay, Norton Lees, and Woodseats. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Unitarians.[1]

It also contains the extra-parochial tract of Beauchief-Abbey[2].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Norton, Derbyshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[3]
Norton St James Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1812 1559-1812 1538-1810 1538-1810 1569-1812 1569-1812

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1668-1882 Mar 1668-1836 Burials 1668-1868 Missing Bap & Bur 1859-1862, 1871,1874,1880

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Presbyterian
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241297.


Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Norton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 439-441. Adapted. Date accessed: 28 June 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 28 June 2013.
  3. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.