Norton, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Norton, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  GloucestershireGotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Norton, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norton, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dudstone and King's Barton
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Gloucester
Registration District Gloucester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1686
Bishop's Transcripts: 1569
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gloucester
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

NORTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the Upper division of the hundred of Dudstone and King's-Barton, union and E. division of the county of Gloucester,4 miles (N. E. by N.) from the city of Gloucester. [1]


Civil Registration

Church Records

Norton, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
Norton, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1569-1812 1569-1812 1569-1753 1569-1753 1569-1812 1569-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1928 1813-1928
DEAN 1569-1989 1569-1979 1569-1928


An extraction of the Bishop's Transcripts of this parish are available at

Census Records

Probate Records

Records of will, adminstrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court jurisdiction by parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visiual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 439-441. Date accessed: 31 December 2012.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  6. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 22 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'
  7. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.