Norton County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Norton County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Norton County

Guide to Norton County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Norton
Organized: February 26, 1867
Parent County(s): unorganized territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Decatur  • Furnas (NE)  • Graham  • Harlan (NE)  • Phillips  • Sheridan
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasNortonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Norton County svg.bmp
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Norton County Courthouse
101 S. Kansas Ave.
Norton, Kansas 67654-0070
Phone: 785.877-5710
Norton County Website

Clerk District Court has marriage and divorce records, and probate court court records
Register of Deeds has land records from 1874 and some cemetery records.
City Clerks have birth and death records. [2]

Norton County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1885 1873 1885 1872 1872

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1867-- Norton County was created 26 February 1867 from unorganized territory.
  • 1873-- Name changed to Billings County on 6 March 1873.
  • 1874-- Name changed back to Norton County on 19 February 1874.
  • County seat: Norton[4]

Populated Places

The following are locations in Norton County, Kansas:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Norton County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

  Lenora Cemetery Association Index  may provide the following information of three cemeteries: Lenora East,  Lenora South, and Pairie Gem: 

  • Surname
  • Given Names
  • Birth Date
  • Death Date
  • Age
  • Inscription
  • Other Information
  • Photo

Norton County Kansas Cemeteries Index by the Norton County Genealogical Society has information on all  cemeteries, providing essentially the same information as above. South Star Cemetery transcription gives directions to the cemetery and provides the essentially the same information as above. 

Census Records

Kansas Territory was enumerated in 1860, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. [5] See links listed below.

State Census

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Norton County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps and Gazetteers

Ksnorton.jpg

Standard Atlas of Norton County, Kansas, 1917 published by George A. Ogle & Co., 1917. The Index of the atlas shows the names of landowners. It has a patrons' directory, and plats of towns as of the year of publication. Available on Kansas Memory.

Migration

Military Records

  • Norton County was not organized until after the Civil War.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Norton County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Norton and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Norton County Genealogical Society
One Washington Square
Norton 67654
Website

Norton County Historical Society
PO Box 303
Norton 67654

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Norton County, Kansas page 254, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.