Norton Malreward, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Norton Malreward, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Norton Malreward, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norton Malreward, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chew
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Clutton
Registration District Clutton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1554
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chew
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

NORTON-MALEREWARD, a parish, in the union of Clutton, hundred of Chew, E. division of Somerset, 2¼ miles (N. W.) from Pensford.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Norton Malreward, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Norton Malreward, Somerset Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1554-1812 1554-1812 1554-1753 1554-1753 1554-1812 1554-1812
FREG 1554-1812



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474595.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 442-446. Date accessed and adapted: 07 March 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  7. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  9. 9.0 9.1 E 179 Database, The National Archives,, accessed 8 August 2013.