Norwich St Helen, Norfolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Norwich St Helen, Norfolk)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Helen, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Norwich St Helen, Norfolk
Norwich St Helen's Bishopsgate.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1617
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean & Chapter of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office


Norwich St Helen is an Ancient parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich.

It is in the care of the the Norwich Historic Churches trust and continues to provide the church to the centuries old Great Hospital.

St Helen Church is part of the The Great Hospital complex founded by Bishop Walter de Suffield in 1249, ‘in remission of my sins,’ to care for ‘decrepit’ priests. With over 750 years of continuous activity, The Great Hospital is now a charity with a remit to provide housing and care for older Norwich residents with limited means.

Norwich, parl. and mun. bor., city, co. town of Norfolk, and co. in itself, on river Wensum, 20 miles W. of Yarmouth and 114 NE. of London by rail, 7472 ac.[1]

Church Records

Norwich St Helen, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
Norwich St Helen, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1708-1842
FS PRs Undefined 1708-1842 Undefined 1708-1839 Undefined 1708-1856
IGI 1708-1841 1708-1836
TGEN 1813-1842 1813-1842 1754-1836 1754-1836 1813-1856 1813-1856

Parish registers for St. Helen's Church, Norwich Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1969

Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1708-1856. FHL BRITISH Film 571603

No Transcript series for this parish survive before 1813

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Norwich
  • registration events post 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD


England Jurisdictions 1851

External Links for historic photographs of the church

Norwich Historic Churches Trust

The Great Hospital


  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  5. 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.