Nottingham St Nicholas, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Nottingham St. Nicholas, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Nottingham St Nicholas, Nottinghamshire|
Nottingham St Nicholas Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Nottingham|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
NOTTINGHAM, a borough and market-town, forming a union and county of itself, locally in the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, of which it is the chief town. The living of St. Nicholas' is a discharged rectory. There are places of worship for Baptists,Independents, Wesleyans, the Society of Friends, Huntingtonians, Sabellians, and Unitarians; a synagogue; and a Roman Catholic cathedral.
Nottingham St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the City of Nottingham.
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching the history of the church and parish Nottingham St Nicholas
The church of St Nicholas has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Nottingham St Nicholas, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Nottingham St Nicholas, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Nottingham St Nicholas (Radford St Peter included) Baptisms 1563-1946 Marriages 1563-1955 Burials 1563-1890 Bishop’s transcripts 1601-1877 Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Nottingham St Nicholas
Nottingham Marriages in the Three Parishes, St Mary, St. Peter, and St Nicholas. dated from 1813-1837. Gives males names, in 3 sections, A-F, G-N, O-Z, surname, given name, and bride's name on the right, Female section in Part 4, gives surname, and relevant page, where to be found, church,and the year. Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 23, pages 1-197, Part 4, page 198-226, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474570.
All at Sea 1861 Census. This article is an Alpabetical listing of surname, given name, age, Condition, Occupation, Place of Birth, Name of Ship and Reference number, for people born in Nottinghamshire, and either on a ship in port or at sea. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 99, pages 1- 7, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n,
All at Sea 1881 Census, same as the above, pages 8-15, with notes on the Ships at the end of the article.
Claims to be Admitted a Freeman of Nottingham 1850-1882. A list of Claims to be admitted a Freeman of Nottingham surnames from S-Z, with an index, from 1850-1882, also available at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref. CA/FR/403/1-171. List is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine,vol.134, page 2-66, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Peters, Doreen. Stocking Frames Sold by Auction. 18th April to 10 June 1775. A list of Stocking Frames sold from 1772-1775, giving the Gage, no. Inches, and the persons name and address. Article to be found in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Journal, vol. 107, pages 14-35, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Transcribed by Simpson, Elizabeth. Schedule of Tenants 1804, Nottingham. A list of tenants, given name, surname, premises occupied by them, and the rent to be paid. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 53, pages 55-59, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Poor Law Unions
Nottingham Union Workhouse. Admissions and Discharges Register 1 November 1856 to 11 December 1858. A picture of the Workhouse, and an 1861 map of Nottingham, reproduced with permission of the Nottinghamshire County Council, and an Admission and Discharge Register, which gives the year, date, surname, forename and age, with an alphabetical listing at the end. Article also includes an Index of Births as having occurred in the Workhouse, extracted from the Admissions Register, dated 1 November 1856-11 December 1858. Article is to be found in Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PUO 2/1/1 and also the transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.101, pages 1-92, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
- Plan of the Town of Nottingham, dated 1844. The map includes all the new Streets and every recent alteration, dated 1844. Map to be found inside the back cover of the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 83, part 7, Family History Library 942.52 D25n