Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nottinghamshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
Nottinghamshire Wiki Topics
Flag of Nottinghamshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Nottinghamshire Background
Local Research Resources
United Kingdom
England
Nottinghamshire
England-nottinghamshire.png

Guide to Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Information

"NOTTINGHAMSHIRE or Notts, a midland county; bounded, on the N W, by Yorkshire; on the N E and the E, by Lincolnshire; on the S E and the S, by Leicestershire; on the W, by Derbyshire... Its greatest length, from N to S, is 50 miles; its greatest breadth, from E to W, is 27 miles; its circuit is about 150 miles; and its area is 526,076 acres...

" Notts contains 209 parishes, parts of 2 others, and 14 extra-parochial places...

"The places of worship within the electoral county, in 1851, were 248 of the Church of England, 21 of Independents, 14 of Particular Baptists, 14 of General Baptists, 23 of New Connexion General Baptists, 1 of Scotch Baptists, 2 of Baptists undefined, 3 of Quakers, 2 of Unitarians, 160 of Wesleyan Methodists, 15 of New Connexion Methodists, 78 of Primitive Methodists, 8 of the Wesleyan Association, 8 of Wesleyan Reformers, 4 of Independent Methodists, 1 of the New Church, 10 of isolated congregations, 1 of the Catholic and Apostolic church, 11 of Latter Day Saints, 5 of Roman Catholics, and 1 of Jews... (John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). To see the full account, go to Vision of Britain).

Parishes

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Nottinghamshire parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Nottinghamshire.

Civil Registration Districts

List of Nottinghamshire Civil Registration Districts

Websites