Nuckolls County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nuckolls County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska


Nuckolls County


Nuckolls County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Nuckolls County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 13, 1860
County Seat Nelson
Courthouse
px
Address Nuckolls County Courthouse
150 S. Main Street
P.O. Box 366
Nelson, NE 68961
Phone: 409.225.4361


Nuckolls County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Nuckolls County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1872 1870 1869 1871


County Courthouse


County Judge has marriage and probate records. Clerk District Court has divorce and court records. County Clerk has land records from 1900. [1]

History

Parent County

1860 Nuckolls County was created 13 January 1860 from unorganized territory. County seat: Nelson [2]

Description

Nuckolls County was organized on June 27, 1871. This county is located in the southern tier. It was named after a wealthy firm of merchants doing business in Nebraska City. [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [4]

  • Angus
  • Hardy
  • Lawrence
  • Nelson
  • Nora
  • Oak
  • Ruskin
  • Superior

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 22
1870 8 −63.6%
1880 4,235 52837.5%
1890 11,417 169.6%
1900 12,414 8.7%
1910 13,019 4.9%
1920 13,236 1.7%
1930 12,629 −4.6%
1940 12,781 1.2%
1950 10,973 −14.1%
1960 8,217 −25.1%
1970 7,404 −9.9%
1980 6,726 −9.2%
1990 7,586 12.8%
2000 5,057 −33.3%
2010 4,500 −11.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Nuckolls County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Nuckolls County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nenuckolls.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Nuckolls County for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers. Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Nuckolls - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Nuckolls County Genealogy Society
    PO Box 324
    Superior, NE 68978

Libraries

  • Superior Public Library
    449 N Kansas St
    Superior, NE 68978-1852
    Phone: 402-879-4200
    Fax: 402-879-4202
    e-mail: superiorlibrary@hotmail.com
    Director: Vicki Perrie

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nuckollsemaha County, Nebraska page 433, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/nuckolls/ accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Nuckolls County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nuckolls_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.
  5. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Nuckolls_County,_Nebraska_Genealogy&oldid=2775827"