Nuneham Courtenay

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Oxfordshire
Oxfordshire Parishes
Nuneham


Guide to Nuneham, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Nuneham Courtenay
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bullingdon
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Abingdon
Registration District Abingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1715
Bishop's Transcripts: 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cuddesdon
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

NUNEHAM-COURTNEY (All Saints), a parish,in the union of Abingdon, hundred of Bullingdon,county of Oxford, 5 miles (S. S. E.) from Oxford. [1]

History of this location by Mavis Batey: http://oxoniensia.org/volumes/1968/batey.pdf

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

  • Parish Records begin in 1715
  • Bishop transcrips begin in 1721

Nuneham Courtenay parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Nuneham Courtenay Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1715-1971
1717-1836
1715-1840

Census records

a, 

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474573.



Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 446-461. Date accessed: 27 September 2012.
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.