Nunton and Bodenham, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Nunton and Bodenham

Guide to Nunton and Bodenham, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nunton and Bodenham, Wiltshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Downton
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Alderbury
Registration District Alderbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1672; For more records see Downton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wilton
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

NUNTON-WITH-BODENHAM, a chapelry, in the parish and hundred of Downton, union of Alderbury, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of the county of Wiltshire, 3 miles (S. S. E.) from Salisbury also 2½ miles S S E of Salisbury railway station; containing the tything of Bodenham.There is a Baptist chapel. [1] [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Nunton and Bodenham, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Nunton and Bodenham, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1500s-1800s
NIM
1623-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464195.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 461-463. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  3. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.