Nuthall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Nuthall, Nottinghamshire ancestry and family history: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Nuthall St+Patrick Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1657|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
NUTHALL (St. Patrick), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4¼ miles (N. W.) from Nottingham; containing, with the hamlet of Awsworth. There is an endowed chapel at Awsworth.
Nuthall St Patrick is an Ancient parish; the church dates from the 13th century and was restored in 1838 and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building
A history of the Church has been researched by the Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project Nuthall St Patrick
See also Nuthall Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Nuthall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|NUTHALL PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Nuthall St Patrick Baptisms 1657-1963 M arriages1663-1956 Burials 1663-1971 Bishop’s transcripts 1602-1873
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Nuthall
Nuthall Monumental Inscriptions. An alphabetical listing by surname, given name, date of death, and sometimes showing relationship, and age - transcription of the Nuthall Gravestones, dated from 1739. Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 19, pages 3-7 , Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Nuthall. A transcription of memorial inscriptions dating from 1710, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/24, transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 64, page18, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438906.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..