Nyköping: Alla Helgona parish, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Nyköping: Alla Helgona parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden►
- 1 History
- 2 Collections
- 2.1 Census Records
- 2.2 Church Records
- 2.3 Military Records
- 2.4 Related Sources
- 2.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 2.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 2.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3 References
Up to 1988 known as Nyköpings östra
After 1989 known as Nyköpings Alla Helgona.
On Jan. 1, 1989 Helgona was combined with this parish.
Historically Östra församling is the Stadsförsamling for the city of Nyköping.
|Nyköping: Alla Helgona|
|Stift||pre 1952 Strängnäs|
|Pastorat||pre 1952 Nyköpings västra and Sankt Nikolai (Nikolai)|
|Tingslag||pre 1952 Nyköping (under rådhusrätten)|
|Domsaga||pre 1952 Nyköping (under rådhusrätten)|
|Fögderi||pre 1952 Nyköpings stad (under uppbördsvä- sendet)|
|Länsmansdistrikt||pe -1917 Nyköpings stad|
|Kommun||pre 1952 Nyköpings stad|
|Militär indelning||add here|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/ULA/11129|
Kyrkorote, Mellan Rote, Norra Tullports Rote, Sankt Anna Rote, Stadsbro Rote, Stapel Rote, Ström Rote, Södra Tullports Rote, Vadsbro Rote
The household examination records have name indexes of land owners in each ward (rote).
The following places are also associated with Nyköpings Alla Helgona parish.
Carlberg, Carlscrona, Cathrinaberg,
Hagnestalund, Hallstalund, Hjortensberg, Hjortensbergs Backstuga,
Sjö Tulln, Skeppshvarfvet, Solberga, Stora Trädgården,
Wretstugan, Wester Ericslund,
Öster Ericslund, Öster Ängstuga,
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR ($).
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Södermanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Södermanland and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! The have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Riksarkivet. "Nyköpings Alla Helgona." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). January 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/
Nyköpings Alla Helgona Husförhörslängd Ortregister 1816 - 1820