Oadby, Leicestershire Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Blaby|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1569|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
OADBY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Blaby, hundred of Guthlaxton, S. division of the county of Leicester, 3 miles (S. E.) from Leicester. There is a place of worship for Baptists. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Oadby like this: OADBY, a village and a parish in Blaby district, Leicestershire. The village stands 2¾ miles E N E of Wigston r. station, and 3½ S E of Leicester There are chapels for Baptists and Primitive Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Oadby, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|OADBY PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Oadby Bap 1653 - 1998 Marr 1653 - 1970 (Banns to1984) Bur 1653 – 1984, 1993-2003
The following Non Conformist records are also available at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office:
Oadby Roman Catholic Marriages 1981-2006 reference DE 7170
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438747.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Harris, Liz. Ann Coe - a Timeline. History and time line of Joseph Coe married Anne Sturgess at Leicester. St. Martin, in Feb 1831,and their descendants, with following surnames, Yeomans, Hulbert, Reculest, Smith Beeby, Page, Panter and Barratt. The family moved around Leicestershire, to Oadby, Desborough, Rothwell, and Long Yard. Article dates from 1805-1963, and is found in Footprints, Northamptonshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 35,no.1. August 2012 pages 19-22, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo v.35.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.