Oakland California FamilySearch Library

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png Archives and Libraries Gotoarrow.png Oakland FamilySearch Library

FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


Library is Fragrance Free!

Coming Events


CLOSED FOR LABOR DAY & BEYOND - We will be closed for Labor Day Saturday-Monday, September 3-5. We will also be closing early on Tuesday Sep 6 and all day Wednesday, Sep. 7 for a server upgrade.


NEW BEGINNING FAMILYSEARCH SERIES - While the temple is closed for remodeling, the Oakland FamiySearch Library will be offering a series of special family history classes directed toward (but not limited to) members of the LDS church. Whether a beginner or more experienced, we have a class for you. See the schedule and class descriptions at Classes 


ATTENTION GERMAN RESEARCHERS - Wednesday, September 28 at 2 PM - Dr. Robert Jackson will be teaching a class on using the Archion Website now available in the Oakland FamilySearch Library by appointment. Archion.de is an subscription website dedicated to making the Evangelical Church records of Germany available to researchers. This website has beautiful digital images of original records, many never available before or only on microfilm. Learn how to make the most effective use of this new resource.


WEDNESDAY, November 16, 6:30 PM - BUBBIE, WHO ARE YOU?: FINDING THE MAIDEN NAMES IN YOUR FAMILY TREE - Instructor, Professional Genealogist Janice Sellers - Female relatives can be difficult to trace, but they can be found. This class introduces resources for tracing the women in your family, including family items, oral histories, federal and state census records, immigration records, vital records, religious records, journals, newspapers, legal and court records, library archives, and manuscript collections. This presentation is in honor of International Jewish Genealogy Month.


GENEALOGICAL RESEARCH WORKSHOP – Thursdays - Need some help with your Swedish research? Join our experts on Thursdays between 10A and 4P for some individual assistance. No appointment necessary.


Get the Boy Scout Genealogy Merit Badge in one visit! Information and registration 



OaklandExterior Detail.jpg
Oakland FSL
Address
4766 Lincoln Avenue
Oakland, California
510-531-3905

Location Map

fhcoakland@gmail.com
Hours
Tue-Wed: 10:00 am – 9 pm
Thu-Sat: 10:00 am – 4 pm
Sun-Mon: Closed
FHC Pages
Home
Contact Information
Holiday Schedule
Calendar

Boy Scout Workshop
Classes
Libraries and Societies
Resources
Catalog

Volunteer



Oakland California Family History Center

The Oakland (California) Regional Family History Center is one of the largest and most accessible centers for genealogical research in California, with over 9,000 volumes of books, periodicals, family histories, city and county histories, city directories, plus over 37,000 reels of microfilm and 9,000 microfiche containing millions of local vital records and historical census data from all over the world.








Location Map:

Email: