Oberrieden parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Oberrieden parish


Guide to Oberrieden parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Geography

History

Oberrieden originally belonged to the parish of Horgen; it became an independent parish in 1761.

Place Names

Locations within Oberrieden

Aeusserer Scheller
Bergli
Bindern
Bleier
Feld
Frohe Aussicht
Hinterer Scheller
Horn

Länz
Neugütli
Oberrieden
Rosengarten
Seehalde
Tischenloo
Weid

Surrounding Parishes

Herrliberg
Horgen
Meilen
Thalwil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

As Oberrieden wasn't established until 1761, the census records are found under Horgen.

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Oberrieden families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Oberrieden belongs to the Horgen civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Horgen
Bahnhofstrasse 10
Postfach
CH-8810 Horgen

Tel: +41 44 728 42 99

email: zivilstandsamt@horgen.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Oberrieden prior to 1875:

Blattmann
Brunner
Burkhard
Fehr
Feurer (1851, from Nesslau)
Gattiker
Götschi
Habersaat (1875, from Langnau am Albis)
Hotz

Leuthold
Mende (1842)
Schäppi
Scheller
Staub
Stempelmann (1806, from Germany)
Ulmer
Widmer

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland