Ockelbo Parish, Gävleborg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ockelbo parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Gävleborg County
Ockelbo


Guide to Ockelbo Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)


The parish name was changed from Ugglebo to Ockelbo in 1883.

The greater part of the Church archive of Ockelbo was destroyed by fire in 1904.

Åmot parish broke off from Ugglebo parish in 1785.


Ockelbo Parish, Gävleborg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärke
Pastorat -1883 Ugglebo, 1883- Ockelbo
Län 1762- Gävleborg
Landskap Gästrikland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1693 Ockelbo, 1693-1879 Ockelbo och Hamrånge, 1880-1920 Gästriklands västra, 1921-1970 Gästriklands västra domsagas
Domsaga -1920 Gästrikland, 1921-1970 Gästriklands västra, 1971- Sandvikens tingsrätts
Fögderi -1917 Gästrikland
Länsmansdistrikt Ockelbo
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun 1863- Ockelbo
Militär indelning Helsinge Regementet
Ofvansjö Kompani
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
FamilySearch I.D. 6372745
NAD Ref Code SE/HLA/1010150


Place Names

Backen, Backgården, Brattfors, Böle,
Flaxen, Fällåsen,
Gammelboning, Gäveränge, Gruvan, Grönviken,
Heden,
Ivantjärn,
Jädraås,
Klubbäcken, Krogen, Källas, Käcklund,
Lundsbro, Lånåsen, Långsjön,
Medskog, Mo, Murgården, Mörtebo,
Nordanåsbo, Norrbo, Nyby, Nynäs,
Ockelbo,
Perslund, Prästgården,
Rabo, Romsen,
Sjulsbo, Sunnanåsbo, Säbyggeby, Sörbo,
Tomtnäs,
Ulvsta, Ulvtorp,
Vallsbo, Vii, Vittersjön, Vretas, Vreten, Värmland,
Åbro, Åbyggeby, Åkrarne, Åkerby,
Östby,
Fattigstugan, Saknade byamän ( missing men from village).


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Gävleborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Gävleborg" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Ockelbo parish, Husförhörslängd AAI:1 1860-1860, Ort register.

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Ockelbo Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). February 2015 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/