Oconto County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Oconto County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Oconto County


Guide to Oconto County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Oconto County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Oconto
Courthouse


WI Oconto.png

County Information

Oconto County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1876 1859 1860 1838 1857


County Courthouse

Oconto County Courthouse
301 Washington Street
Oconto, WI 54153-1621
Phone: 920.834.6800

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial and land records;
Clerk of Courts has divorce records and court records;
Register in Probate has probate records;
Oconto County Historical Society has historical records[1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1851- Oconto County was created 6 February 1851 from Brown County. County seat: Oconto [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

County’s first courthouse burned down in 1891.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Brown  • Forest  • Langlade  • Marinette  • Menominee  • Shawano

WI OCONTO.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
WITombstone Project
EPodunk
Wisconsin Genealogical Society
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census
Federal Census

Church History and Records

Lutheran

Morgan

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Morgan, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Oconto County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Oconto County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Stiles Lutheran Church

  • Records of Stiles Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Circuit Court Case Files from 1857-1923 are held at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone:(920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook
Circuit Court Look-Up Request form available at: UWGB Library

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Czechs
Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Tax rolls from 1853-1970 are available at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone:(920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook

Maps

Images of some land plat books from 1898-1905 may be viewed at Wisconsin, Shawano and Oconto Counties, Indexes and Records, 1850-2007.

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Oconto County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Oconto County.

- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company I
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies F and H

Naturalization and Citizenship

Declarations of Intention and Naturalizations from 1857-1952 are held at:

Archives Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives Area Research Center
Request form available at: Citizenship Record Search and Copy Request form $

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Probate case files and wills from 1857-1952 are held at:

Archives Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook
Records Search form

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone:(920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook

County Courthouse
Family History Centers
  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Oconto County Genealogical Society
PO Box 114
Suring, WI 54174
E-mail:ocgs@ez-net.com
Website

Gillett Area Historical Society & Museum
PO Box 85
110 W. Main St. - Hwy 22
Gillett, WI 54124-0085
E-mail:info@historical.com

Mountain Historical Society
PO Box 198
Mountain, WI 54149
Website

Oconto County Historical Society
PO Box 272
917 Park Ave.
Oconto, WI 54153
Telephone: 920-834-6206
E-mail:ochs@ocontohistsoc.org
Website

Taxation

Vital Records

Pre-1907 birth, marriage, and death records are available on microfilm at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook
Birth, Death, and Marriage Request Forms $

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Oconto Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).