Oetwil am See parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Oetwil am See parish

Guide to Oetwil am See parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Oetwil am See

Aegertenwies
Aue
Ausser-Willikon
Bäch
Bauacker
Beichlen
Betti
Bodenacker
Breite
Brunst
Eichbühl
Eichholz
Etzikon
Eulen

Farb
Frohe Aussicht
Gartenacker
Geerenstöck
Goldrain
Gusch
Hinter-Kloster
Hochstrass
Hohrüti
Holzhausen
Inner-Willikon
Langholz
Neuegg
Neugut

Neuhaus
Niedertal
Ober-Frohbühl
Ober-Kreuzlen
Ober-Rohr
Oetwil
Päppur
Paradies
Reben
Rebrain
Riedt
Rinderweid
Rohrbühl

Schachen
Schachenweid
Schür
Sigmund
Sommerau
Steckenacker
Stubenloo
Unter-Frohbühl
Unter-Kreuzlen
Vorder-Kloster
Weid
Winklen
Zelgli

Surrounding Parishes

Egg
Grüningen
Hombrechtikon
Männedorf
Stäfa
Uetikon am See

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Oetwil am See:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 706
1634 1185139 3 547
1637 1185142 1 241
1640 1185144 2 449
1643 1185146 2 497
1650 1185150 2 625
1657 1175179 1 85
1663 1185179 2 365
1670 1185154 1 863
1678 1185157 2 223
1682 1185159 2 607
1690 1185163 2 349
1698-1699 1185167 1 747
1708-1709 1185172 1 723
1724 1185175 2 478
1739 1185175 2 585
1749 1185175 2 625
1762-1763 1185175 2 651

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Oetwil am See families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Oetwil am See belongs to the Männedorf civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt
Bahnhofstrasse 10
CH-8708 Männedorf

Tel: +41 44 921 66 00

email: zivilstandsamt@maennedorf.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Oetwil am See prior to 1875:

Alber
Bär
Baumann
Blum (1836, from Germany)
Bodmer
Boller (1870, from Egg)
Bosshard
Brüngger (1875, from
    Volketswil)
Erni
Fierz
Frauenlob
Frei
Frischknecht

Graf (1875, from Leutwil)
Grimm
Heusser
Kägi
Krauer
Küng
Kunz
Maurer
Meyer
Oetiker
Oswald
Pfenninger
Pfister
Schaufelberger

Schädler
Schätti
Sixt (1803, from Germany)
Spiehlmann (1803, from
    Germany)
Süsser (1854, from Germany)
Suter
Vontobel
Walder
Weber
Weiss
Wettstein
Zangger
Zollinger

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland