Ofoten, Nordland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ofoten, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngNordland County Gotoarrow.pngOfoten

Guide to Ofoten, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Ofoten clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Evenes (Ofoten), Ballangen, Ankenes with Skjomen chapel and Narvik. Narvik became its own clerical district in 1929.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1699-1935.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Ofoten: 1699-1711, 1714-1732, 1748-1886

Ofoten / Ankenes: 1879-1949

Ofoten / Ballangen: 1923-1939

Ofoten / Bjerkvik: 1914-1925

Ofoten / Evenes: 1821-1921

Ofoten / Narvik: 1902-1924

Ofoten / Skjomen: 1885-1928

Census Records

  • 1664-1666, 1701 see Lødingen clerical district.


  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge.  The 1801 census for Ofoten clerical district include the parishes of Ofoten, Evenes, Ankenes, Narvik and Ballangen and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet.


  • 1835 folketelling for Ofoten prestegjeld (Nordland).  The 1835 census for Ofoten clerical district include the parishes of Ofoten, Evenes, Ankenes, Skjerstad, Fauske, Værøy and Røst and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. 



  • Folketellinga 1865 for [nr.] 1853 OfotenAn index to the 1865 census for Ofoten is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.



  • Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 1ste januar 1891The 1891 census for Ofoten clerical district include the parishes of Trondenes, Sandtorg, Ofoten and Skåneland and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.




Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

Aakernæsryggen, Aasheim, Aasli (see Åsli), Akereng, Alfheim, 38 Arnes, Arneselven Vestre, Arneselven Østre, Bakkemo, 68 Bakken, Bakketun, 39 Ballangen, 57 Balsnes, Bentebo, Berg, Bergtun, 24 Bergvik, 19 Bjeldgam, Bjerkely, Bjerkmo, Bjørklia, Bjørklund, Bjørklund 2, Bjørkmo, Bjørksætt, Bjørnebo, 29 Botn, 30 Botnmark, Bratvoll, Breidablikk, Breiland, 41 Brugsaasen, 42 Brugsjorden, Brugård, Bruland, Bruli, Bruånes, Bruånes 2, 59 Bø, 59 Bødalen, Bækkelmoen, Bækkestua, 11 Dalehaugen, Dalelvmo, Dannebo, 3 Dauvolden, 46 Djupaasen, 52 Djupdalsaasen, 51 Djupvatnet, 61 Djupvik, 22 Dragvik, 40 Dyrhaugen, Einebakk, 35 Eiterelvmoen, Elvebakk I, Elvebakk 2, Elvebakk 3, Elvedur, Elvekroken, Elvelund, Elvemo, 58 Elvesletten, Endenesletten, Endenes, Engan, 5 Evenes, Fagerli, 10 Fjeldakslen, 9 Fjeldkroken, Fjellheim, Fornæs, Fornæsteigen, 31 Forra, Fossheim, Fredheim, Fredly, Fribo, Føre, 34 Gamnesholmen, Granlund, Granmo, 71 Grønlikollen, Gunnarsjåen, 54 Haafjeldet, 45 Haalen, Hagen, 70 Harvolden, Haug, Haugar, 47 Haugen, 69 Haugen, 70 Havnnes, 60 Hekkelstrand, Heimlund, Heimly, Heimtun, Heimtun 2, Helleveien, Herteig, Holmestrand, Holmlund, Holmvik, Høymo, 67 Jakobheimen, 71 Jevik, 56 Juttanes, Kalvaasen, 66 Karihaug, Karihaug 2, 25 Kleven, Knutheim, Kroken, Krokmoen, 40 Kvanmoen, Kveldro, Kveldsol, 21 Laksaa, Langstrand, 3 Langvolden, Leirosmoteigen, 26 Lenvik, 27 Lenvikmark, 20 Leros, 14 Lien, 17 Liland, 15 Lilandskar, Lilleheimen, Lund, Lundheim, Lundli, Lungaard, Lyngheim, Lyngmo, Lyngset, Lyngstad, Lyngtun, Lysheim, Lægda, Midnattsol, 70 Mikkeljorden, Moan, Moland, Molund, Molund 2, Movang, Myrbakk, Myrengh, Myrli, Myrlund, 8 Myrnes, Myrvang, Mølleelven, 40 Mørkhaalen, Nerland, Nikkelbo, Nordbakk, Nordbakk 2, Nordli, Noreng, Normo, Nyberg, Nybo, Nybrott, Nyheim, Nylund, Nymo, Nyrud, Nystad, Nærheim, Odden, Oppeidet, Osbakk, Osen, 13 Osmarken, 12 Osvandet, 70 Porsøen, 62 Pundsvik, 37 Raana, 33 Raanvasbotn, Rabben, 1 Ramnes, Rognlie, Rolighet, Rones, Rones 2, Rosenlund, Røst, Rånlund, 32 Saltvik, Samvirke, Sandmo, Sildvik, Sjøbugt, Sjølund, Sjøsprøit, Sjøstrand, Sjøtun, Sjøvik, Sjøvoll, 64 Skaarnes, 2 Skar, 48 Skjaafjeldet, Skogholdt, Skogholdt 2, Skogli, Skoglund, Skogtun, 57 Slaatstranden, Solbakk, Solbakk 2, Soleng, Solglimt, Solgløtt, Solhaug, Sollund, Solnes, Solstad, Solstrand, Solstø, Solsund, Soltun, Soltun 2, Solvang, Solvik, Solvoll, Solvoll 2, Sommerbo, Sommerro, Sommerro 2, Steinbakk, Steinlund, Steinmo, Steinrabben, Steinrøys, Steinstrand, 36 Stemnes, Stokkenes, 70 Stordalen, 7 Storelven, Storelvmo, Storelvteigen, 63 Storhaugen, 70 Storhaugen, 23 Strand, 4 Stunes, Støve, Stålseth, Søndre Storholm, Svaleng, Svevik, 6 Sørkvitfors, 3 Taarstad, Tangen, 31 Tangvik, Teigveien, Tilhengeren, 70 Tjelle, 65 Tjellebotn, 66 Tjellemarken, Trollro, 43 Tuen, Utebo, Utsikten, 70 Vargfjord, 31 Vasvik, Vestheim, Vestlund, Vestre Aasteig, Westerlund, 16 Volden, 18 Øien, 28 Østervik, Øster Aasteig, Østli, 2 Øverland, Øverli, Åsli

Probate Records

1713-1877: Probates are found in Salten judicial district.

1701-1832: Clerical probates are found in Salten Deanery

Historical Society

Ofotslekt