Ohio Tax Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
|Access the Records|
Ohio Tax Records 1800-1850 .
|This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.|
|Ohio, United States|
|Flag of Ohio|
|Location of Ohio|
|Record Type||Tax Records|
- 1 What is in the Collection?
- 2 Collection Content
- 3 What Can This Collection Tell Me?
- 4 How Do I Search the Collection?
- 5 What Do I Do Next?
- 6 Known Issues with This Collection
- 7 Citing this Collection
- 8 How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?
What is in the Collection?
The records include an index and images to taxation records as recorded with the County Auditor of each county. The records in this collection cover the years 1800 to 1850. However, the majority are from the years 1816 through 1838. Entries are recorded in voucher books, one person per page. Included are the following Ohio counties:
Governments created tax records that vary in content according to the purpose of the assessment. Most are based on personal property, real estate, and income. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. Numerous families lived in Ohio and owned taxable property.
To Browse this Collection
|You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for Ohio Tax Records 1800-1850.|
What Can This Collection Tell Me?
Information in Ohio tax records includes:
- Legal description of real and personal property
- Names and ages of property owners and possible relationships
- Time periods when families resided in Ohio
- Occupation of the property owner
- Places of residence
- Names of other relatives
- Additional information associated with the property
Tax records are based on the property owned by people. Only the person who owned the taxable property was listed on the tax record; other residents, living on the property, were not listed. Tax records are considered a primary source. They are usually reliable because they are kept by the county clerk in the local courthouse, who usually recorded the event at or very near the time it occurred.
How Do I Search the Collection?
To begin your search it is helpful to know:
- The name of your ancestor.
- The place where your ancestor lived.
- The time period when your ancestor lived in the area.
Search by Name by visiting the Collection Page:'
Fill in the requested information on the initial search page. This search will return a list of possible matches. Compare the information about those in the list to what you already know about your own ancestors to determine if this is the correct family or person. You may need to compare the information about more than one person to find your ancestor.
View images in this collection by visiting the Browse Page:
To search the collection you will need to follow this series of links:
⇒Select "Browse through images" on the initial collection page
⇒Select the appropriate "County"
⇒Select the appropriate "Township"
⇒Select the appropriate "Year" which takes you to the images.
Look at each image comparing the information with what you already know about your ancestors to determine if the image relates to them. You may need to look at several images and compare the information about the individuals listed in those images to your ancestors to make this determination.
With either search keep in mind:
- There may be more than one person in the records with the same name.
- You may not be sure of your own ancestor’s name.
- Your ancestor may have used different names or variations of their name throughout their life.
For tips about searching on-line collections see the on-line article FamilySearch Search Tips and Tricks.
|More images are available in the FamilySearch Catalog at Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850. Click on camera icon to see images.|
What Do I Do Next?
When you have located your ancestor in the tax records, carefully evaluate each piece of information given. Save a copy of the image or transcribe the information. These pieces of information may give you new biographical details. Add this new information to your records of each family.
I Found Who I was Looking for, What Now?
- Search for the family in census records
- Search for the family in church records
- Search for the family in land records
- Tax assessments identify the name and residence of the taxpayer. This information can help you locate land records and census records.
- The description of the real estate, number of acres owned, types of buildings, identifiable personal property, and the farm animals can help you determine an occupation: someone living at a church is probably a minister; someone with several acres of land or many farm animals is probably a farmer; someone living on the same property as the school may be a teacher; someone living above or behind a store is probably a merchant.
- Known occupations can lead you to other types of records such as employment, school, or church records.
- Following an ancestor through the assessment rolls can help you establish a family migration pattern or identify the year an individual moved into an area or left the area.
- The assessment rolls can also indicate that an individual died. Use the last known tax year as an approximate death year. Use the death year and residence to locate death or probate records.
- It is often helpful to extract the information on all individuals with the same surname in the same general area. If the surname is uncommon, it is likely that those living in the same area were related.
- Other family members may have lived nearby so you may want to search an entire town, neighboring towns, or even a county.
- Additional searches may be needed to locate all members of a particular family in the assessment rolls.
I Can't Find Who I'm Looking for, What Now?
- Look for variant spellings of the names. You should also look for alias names, nicknames and abbreviated names.
- Look for an index. There are often indexes at the beginning of each volume. Local genealogical and historical societies often have indexes to local records.
- Search the indexes and records of nearby localities.
- Try alternative search methods such as only filling in the surname search box (or the given name search box) on the landing page leaving the other box empty and then click on search. This should return a list of everyone with that particular name. You could then browse the list for individuals that may be your ancestor.
Known Issues with This Collection
For a full list of all known issues associated with this collection see the attached Wiki article. If you encounter additional problems, please email them to email@example.com. Please include the full path to the link and a description of the problem in your e-mail. Your assistance will help ensure that future reworks will be considered.
Citing this Collection
Citing your sources makes it easy for others to find and evaluate the records you used. When you copy information from a record, list where you found that information. Here you can find citations already created for the entire collection and for each individual record or image.
- "Ohio Tax Records 1800-1850." Database with Images. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : accessed 2017. Citing Ohio Historical Society Library, Columbus.
Record Citation (or citation for the index entry):
How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?
| We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records. |
Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.