Old Hurst, Huntingdonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Old Hurst, Huntingdonshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes

Guide to Old Hurst, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Hurst (Old), is a parish in St. Ives district, Huntingdon, 3½ miles WSW of Somersham railway station, and 4 miles NNW of St. Ives.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Old Hurst, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Old Hurst, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
HUNT

1702-1798
NBI

1604-1798

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288833.


Poor Law Unions

St Ives Poor Law Union, Huntingdonshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Old Hurst on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 20 August 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.