Old Sarum, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Old Sarum, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Old Sarum

Guide to Old Sarum, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Old Sarum, Wiltshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Underditch
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Alderbury
Registration District Alderbury
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Salisbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

SARUM, OLD, formerly a representative borough, in the parish of Stratford-under-the-Castle, union of Alderbury. It is located in the hundred of Underditch and in the county of Wilts (Wiltshire), 1½ mile (N.) from Salisbury.

The city stood on a lofty eminence, on the S border of Salisbury plain it is nearly midway between the rivers Avon and Bourn. It is on the Lcknield-street, at the convergence of Roman roads from Winchester, Silchester, Speen, the Severn, and Dorchester. The location occupies the site of the Roman station, Sorbiodunum.[1] [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464202.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-23. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)