Oldbury, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Oldbury, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Oldbury, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Oldbury, Worcestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brimstree; Halfshire
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union West Bromwich
Registration District West Bromwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1714
Bishop's Transcripts: 1725
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

OLDBURY, a township, in the parish of Hales Owen, union of West Bromwich, Upper division of the hundred of Halfshire, Hales-Owen and E. divisions of Worcestershire, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from Hales-Owen. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and others.[1]

Additional information:

Oldbury is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Worcestershire, created in 1715 from Halesowen, Worcestershire Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMDand Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Oldbury Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]   FREG - Search under Staffordshire
  OLDBURY CHRIST CHURCH (1714) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1714-1812

1714-1885
1714-1849

To search for the Oldbury records inputted by Staffordshire FreeREG - when searching select County as Staffordshire  and for place select Oldbury Staffs. Oldbury was part of Shropshire until 1844 when it was transferred to Worcestershire. In 1966 it then became part of Staffordshire until finally in 1974 it became part of the West Midlands. Many of it's records are for people living in the surrounding Staffordshire Parishes.

Since 1837 for Civil Registration purposes the Parish was part of West Bromwich District. No marriages were recorded in the registers between 1762-1837.

Cemetery Records

Oldbury Cemetery, Rood End

FREG Staffordshire has transcribed the following Burial Registers1858-1869, 1873-1874

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474583.


Poor Law Unions

West Bromwich Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 October 2013.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 September 2014.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.