Oldham County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Oldham County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Oldham County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||August 21, 1876|
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Church
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Land
- 4.7 Local Histories
- 4.8 Maps
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Obituaries
- 4.12 Probate
- 4.13 Taxation
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Oldham County Courthouse
PO Box 469
Vega, TX 79092-0469
County Clerk has birth records from 1917, death records
from 1918, marriage, divorce records from 1881, burial
and probate records from 1887, court records from 1911
and land records from 1878
County and District Clerk
P.O. Box 360
The town of Tascosa was chosen as the county seat when Oldham County was organized in 1880. The county's first courthouse, a two story brick building, was built in 1884. In 1915, the county seat was moved to Vega and a second courthouse built. Although remodelled, the 1915 courthouse is in use today. The 1884 courthouse in Tascosa now serves as the Julian Bivins Museum.
Oldham County, Texas Record Dates
1876--Oldham County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District, but was not organized until 1880.
- County seat: Vega 
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Adrian | Boise | Boys Ranch | Tascosa | Vega | Wildorado
- 1865-1870 Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records(images) - FamilySearch
- Texas African American Griots ~ USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Boothill Cemetery from Cemeteries-of-tx.com
- Cal Farley's Boys Ranch Cemetery ~ findagrave
- Memorial Park Cemetery ~ findagrave
- Palo Duro Wildorado ~ findagrave
- Romero Cemetery ~ USGenWeb Archives
- St. Stephens Episcopal Cemetery ~ findagrave
- Tascosa Cemetery ~ findagrave
- Wimberly Cemetery ~ findagrave
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Texas Escapes Listing of Texas cemeteries with transcriptions and lots of pictures.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Texas Land Grant Search Texas General Land Office
- Original Land Owners of Oldham County USGenWeb Archives
Local histories are available for Oldham County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Oldham County, 1981, by the Oldham County Historical Commission.
- Maverick Town: The Story of Old Tascosa, 1946; enlarged ed. 1968, by John L. McCarty.
- Oldham County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Texas Historic Sites Atlas Texas Historic Commission
- Portal To Texas History
- Texas Counties Map. Texas Genweb site
- 1838-1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Oldham County Military Oldham County TXGenWeb
- Index to Military Roles for the Republic of Texas TSHA
- 1861-1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
- 1890 Veterans Schedule TXGenWeb
- Confederate Military Pension Applications USGenWeb Archives
World War I
- Oldham County WW 1 Draft Applicants USGenWeb Archives
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Oldham County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
- Oldham County Obituaries ~ TXGenWeb
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800–1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800–2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records Ancestry.com (subscription)
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
- 1903 - 1935 https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1803956 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935] (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903 - 1997 https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1949342 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997] (index)- FamilySearch
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 FamilySearch record collection
- 1837 - 1977 Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966 - 2005 Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 Hidden Ancestors
- 1966 - 2010 https://familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://familysearch.org/searchapi/search/collection/2031191 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010] FamilySearch record collection
- 1890 - 1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images] FamilySearch Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976.
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903 - 2000Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1964 - 1998 https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://www.familysearch.org/searchapi/search/collection/1375599 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998] [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1850 - 1930 USGenWeb Census Project Texas 1850 - 1930
- 1968 - 2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 Hidden Ancestors
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
- Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Oldham County Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Oldham County TXGenWeb site
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oldham County, Texas. Page 671 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).