Olmsted County, Minnesota Genealogy
Guide to Olmsted County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Olmsted County, Minnesota|
Location in the state of Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
|Founded||February 20, 1855|
|Address|| Olmsted County Courthouse|
151 SE 4th Street
Rochester, MN 55904
Olmsted County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Emigration and Immigration
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Obituaries
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Web Sites
- 8 References
Olmsted County, Minnesota Record Dates
Clerk District Court incomplete birth and death records from 1871,
marriage records from 1855, divorce records
from 1860 and court records form 1858.
County Court has probate records. Coroner and
Department of Health have burial records
This county, established February 20, 1855, was named in honor of David Olmsted, first mayor of St. Paul, in 1854, who in 1855 removed to Winona, in the county of that name, adjoining Olmsted county.
County seat: Rochester 
- For a brief history of how Olmsted County was named, click here. Then select Olmsted County.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Pine Island
Cascade | Dover | Eyota | Elmira | Farmington | Haverhill | High Forest & 45 | Kalmar | Marion |New Haven | Orion| Oronoco | Pleasant Grove | Quincy | Rochester | Rock Dell & 45| Salem | Viola
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.|
Federal Census 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 and 1900 US Federal Censuses for Olmsted, Minnesota can be found at FamilySearch Record Search]. Free searchable name indexes and images are available for most census years.
- 1865 - Minnesota State Census, 1865 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Minnesota State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - Minnesota State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — index and images
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Byron, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
East (Byron) and West St. Olaf Congregations
- Records of East and West St. Olaf Lutheran Congregations, Olmsted and Dodge Counties, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Rochester, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Zumbro Lutheran Church, Rochester
- Records of the Zumbro Lutheran Church, Rochester, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Emigration and Immigration
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Olmsted – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local histories are available for Olmsted County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Civil War service men from Olmsted County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Olmsted County.
- - 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Company I.
- - 1st Regiment, Minnesota Heavy Artillery, Company H.
- - 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A and B.
- - 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company L.
- - 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies C and K.
- - 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.
- - 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company H.
- - 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company D.
- - 9th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F
- - 11th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company H.
- - Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies C and D.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Olmsted County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Online Probate Records
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.
Societies and Libraries
Olmsted County Genealogical Society
PO Box 6411
Red River History Museum
211 3rd St
PO Box 123
Shelly MN 56581-0123
Red River Valley Genealogical Society
PO Box 9284
112 N University Drive Suite L116
Fargo, ND 58106
Northwest Minnesota Historical Center
Livingston Lord Library
Moorhead State University
Moorhead, MN 56560
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
• Ole & Lena: the genealogy and local history of a Norwegian settlement (Dodge and Olmsted counties in Minnesota) http://web.mac.com/moiseth/Ole_and_Lena:_genealogy_/Welcome.html
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Olmsted County, Minnesota page 367, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.