Omaha Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Indians of Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Omaha Indians

Guide to Omaha Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.

To get started in American Indian Research

Cwpbh Omaha Indians.jpg

Various Spellings: Omaha, Omahaw

Tribal Headquarters

Omaha Tribe of Nebraska
P.O. Box 368
Macy, NE 68039
Phone: 1.402.837.5391
Fax: 1.402.837.5308

History

The Omaha were associated with the Kansa, Quapaw, Osage and Ponca.

Brief Timeline

1802: A smallpox epidemic reduced the tribes population.

1804: The tribe was visited by Lewis and Clark

1824-37: The tribe was under the jurisdiction of the Upper Missouri Agency

1854: March 16, Treaty ceded their lands west of the Missouri.

1855: the tribe was removed to Dakota County, Nebraska

1837-56: The Council Bluff's Agency supervised the tribe

1865: Treaty

1856-76: Omaha Agency supervised the tribe

1876-80: Nebraska Agencies supervised the tribe

1882: a law was enacted granting lands in severalty and prospective citizenship.

1893: Allotments to Indian women and any child born since since allotments were made under the Act of August 7, 1882

1936: Constitution ratified

The tribe was under the jurisdiction of the St. Louis, Central, and Northern Superintendencies.

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Omaha tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods. Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America and in David Bushnell's Villages of the Algonquian, Siouan and Caddoan Tribes West of the Mississippi.

Reservations

Omaha Reservation

Bands and Groups of the Omaha Tribe

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Agencies

Upper Missouri

Council Bluffs Agency

Omaha Agency

Nebraska Agencies

Superintendencies

St. Louis Superintendency

Central Superintendency

Northern Superintendency

Correspondence and Census Records

Tribe Agency Location of Original Records

Pre-1880 Correspondence

M234 RG 75 Rolls 962

Roll Numbers

FHL

Film

Numbers

Post-1885 Census

M595 RG 75 Rolls 962

Roll Numbers

FHL

Film

Numbers

Omaha Upper Missouri Agency, 1824-37 Washington D.C. Rolls 883-88 - - -
Omaha Council Bluffs Agency, 1837-56 Washington D.C. Rolls 215-18 - - -
Omaha Omaha (Winnebago) Agency, 1867-1946 Washington D.C. and Kansas City Rolls 60406 - Rolls 311-14, 663-70 Films: 579721-724 , and FHL Films: 583122-583103
Omaha Nebraska Agencies, 1876-80 Washington D.C. Rolls 519-29 - - -

Treaties

  • 1830 July 15, with Sauk and Foxes Etc., annuity, cession, reservation
  • 1836 October 15, with the Oto, Etc., cession
  • 1854 March 16,cession, removal, annuities,reserve
  • 1865 March 6, cession, reservation, land divided in severally
Allottees on the Namaha Half-Breed Reservation, 1860. These allotments first authorized land in severally to be given to Indians based on the Treaty of Prairie du Chien, 1830 [1] FHL 970.1 J824j Vol. 9 No.1 pages 6-10

Vital Records

  • Winnebago Agency, M595,Births and deaths 1924-1931, FHL Film: 583126 Births and deaths 1925-1932, FHL Film: 583127

Important Web Sites

References

  1. The Journal of American Indian Family Research. Ed by Larry S. Watson.

Bibliography