Omaha Nebraska Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
Make an Appointment for Individualized Help
Sign up online to make an appointment with a temple and family history consultant at the Family History Center. After you authorize them to access your information in FamilySearch, consultants can research your family tree to help you with a research goal.
Click here to schedule an appointment online. Please schedule at least one week in advance. A temple and family history consultant will contact you to prepare for your appointment.Walk-ins are welcome, too! See below for Center hours.
Center Contacts and Hours
Location Map: Location Map
Address: 14680 California St Omaha NE 68154
- The Family History Center has moved from Martha Street
- The Family History Center is located near the intersection of 144th and Dodge.
- It is the building just West of the Synagogue.
- We are located on the north side of the building.
- Follow the signs to the Family History Center.
- There are handicap accessible doors on the North side of the building and those doors are the ones you will need to enter.
- Tuesday: 9:30am-3:00pm and 6:30pm-8:30pm
- Wednesday: 6:30pm-8:30pm
- Thursday: 9:30am-3:00pm and 6:30pm-8:30pm, except for third Thursdays, when the Center is closed for consultant training.
All holidays: Monday and Friday, 1st Tuesday evening. In case of severe weather call ahead.
- FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog.
- Patrons' Microfiche Collection -- a collection of fiche ordered by our patrons, assorted titles. Contain family histories, vital records, and other types of information.
- Indefinite Film Collection -- a collection of films on a variety of subjects, to include vital records, county records, court records, etc.
- Book Collection: --
- We have over 1,300 Microfilm on extended loan, including many from England, Germany, Italy, Ireland, and Sweden.
- Family History Library Film ordering is now online. Click on the attached link to use the online ordering system.
- FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. These websites include:
- Ancestry.com -- Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. It is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world. All family history centers have access to Ancestry.com Library. This site has 10+ billion records. U. S. federal and state census records, vital records, passenger lists, Canadian census, church, and vital records, UK census records, birth, marriage and death indexes, and other international records.,
- Heritage Quest - The ProQuest obituaries collection is a premier resource for genealogical and historical research. You can use the collection to search obituaries and death notices from prominent newspapers, such as the New York Times (dating back to 1851). The collection includes both famous and lesser-known individuals and can be searched by name or by keywords appearing in the body of the article.
- The Genealogist -- A great place to search for your ancestors and the details of their lives, using a combination of simple and advanced search facilities and a huge variety of the most vital records and resources for family history.
- Find My Past -- 1.7 billion international family history records from the U.S., Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand and beyond with records going back to 1200. findmypast makes it easy to research your UK ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life.1911 British Census (accessed through the Find My Past website)–The 1911 UK Census is a record of everyone who lived in England and Wales in 1911. It provides a unique snapshot of the lives of those who lived at that time. New collections are added every month.
- Fold3.com (Formerly known as Footnote.com) -- Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos. Fold3 has refocused their efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories. The Fold3 name reflects military history and honor, since traditionally, the third fold in a flag-folding ceremony honors and remembers veterans for their sacrifice in defending their country and promoting peace in the world. See Using Fold3 at a Family History Center for more information.
- World Vital Records -- works closely with its content partners to digitize and publish tens of millions of historical family history records online each month. In November 2011, World Vital Records.com was acquired by MyHeritage Ltd. and it is now a MyHeritage.
- ArkivDigital Online -- Swedish genealogy. ArkivDigital is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents. Launch from the 'ArkivDigital Online' Start Menu or Desktop icon from a computer where the program has been installed.
Hardware and Equipment
This location has:
- 7 wide screen computers
- 10 microfilm readers, and a microfilm reader/scanner/printer
- Books and maps.
What to bring to the Center
- Information for the people you are looking for (as much as you have) – Name, birth date, place of birth, death date, place of death, spouse, marriage date, place of marriage, children’s names – date and place of birth
- Gather this information from family records or living relatives
- LDS user ID and password for access to new.familysearch, family search, indexing, etc
- Notebook to record what you find, where you found it, and when
- Flashdrive to save digital images
Staff Research Specialties
Our temple and family history consultants can help you with research in the following countries:
We can also access experts at the Salt Lake City Family History Library to answer your questions.
We can assist you with the following Family History Computer Programs
Resources in the Local Area
- The Omaha public library has excellent Omaha area genealogical information (births, deaths, marriages) and microfilm of Omaha area newspapers.
- The Greater Omaha Genealogical Society
- The GOGS has regular workshops and activities, they are very active in the community. GOGS also has online indexes to Omaha area births, marriages, and obituaries.