Orston, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Orston, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Orston St Mary Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham|
|Parish registers: 1590; Separate registers exist for Staunton Chapel beginning 1663|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606; Separate records exist for Staunton Chapel beginning 1627|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
ORSTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 6¼ miles (E. by N.) from Bingham. The living is a discharged vicarage, with the livings of Scarrington and Thoroton annexed. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Orston St Mary is an Ancient Parish . Thoroton, Nottinghamshire and Scarrington, Nottinghamshire were chapelries of this parish. Part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbour Bottesford, Leicestershire
History of the church Orston St Mary
The church of St Mary has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Orston Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Orston St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|ORSTON PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1590-1981 Marriages 1590-1901 Burials 1591-1914 Bishop’s Transcripts 1606-1854
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Orston
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..