Osbournby, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Osbournby, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Osbournby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Osbournby, Lincolnshire
Osbournby St Peter & St Paul Lincolnshire.jpg
Civil Jurisdictions
Poor Law Union Sleaford


Parish History

OSBOURNBY (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Aswardhurn, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 2¾ miles (N.) from Falkingham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Osbournby St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish Osbournby is pronounced Ozzenby or Ossenby locally.

The church was restored in 1873 and the small village and civil parish is about 5 miles south of Sleaford.

The village also had a Wesleyan Methodist chapel built in 1874.

Osbournby, parish and village,Lincolnshire, 6 miles S. of Sleaford, 1260 ac., pop. 496; near the village is Osbournby Hall, seat.

Resources

Civil Registration

The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of Sleaford registration district but was transferred to the Leadenham sub-district in 1891when the registration districts were reorganised.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Osbournby Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Osbournby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438758.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Osbournby/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 September 2013.