Ouachita County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ouachita County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Ouachita County

Guide to Ouachita County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Ouachita County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Ouachita County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 29, 1842
County Seat Camden
Courthouse
ArkansasOuachitaCourthouse.jpg
Address Ouachita County Courthouse
145 Jackson Street
Camden, AR 71701
Phone: 870.837.2220



County Courthouse

Ouachita County Courthouse
145 Jackson Street
Camden, AR 71701
Phone: 870.837.2220

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1875; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Ouachita County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1875 1914* 1875 1869 1876
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1842--Ouachita County was created 29 November 1842 from Union County.  County seat: Camden [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1875 All records were destroyed by a fire on December 19, 1875.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Towns
  • Bearden
  • Camden
  • Chidester
  • East Camden
  • Louann
  • Stephens

Census Districts and Unincoporated Towns
  • Amy
  • Barham
  • Bragg City
  • Buena Vista
  • Camark
  • Cross Roads
  • Cullendale
  • Eagle Mills
  • Elliott
  • Fairview
  • Frenchport
  • Good Hope
  • Harmony Grove
  • Herbert
  • Joyce City
  • Kent
  • Kirkland
  • Lakeside
  • Lester
  • Lester Junction
  • Liberty
  • Lufra
  • Lunet
  • Millers Bluff
  • Millville
  • Ogemaw
  • Pace City
  • Red Hill
  • Salem
  • Sayre
  • Shumaker
  • Smead
  • Snow Hill
  • Spring Hill
  • Standard Umstead
  • Tates Bluff
  • Troy
  • Vanduzer
  • Velie
  • Warner

Neighboring Counties

Calhoun  • Clark  • Columbia  • Dallas  • Nevada  • Union  •

Ouachita CountyDallas CountyClark CountyUnion CountyCalhoun CountyHot Spring CountyColumbia CountyNevada CountyCleveland CountyGrant CountyPike CountyBradley CountyLafayette CountyAROuachita.JPG



History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Ouachita County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

  • 1803 - The county was inhabited by only a few hunters, trappers and traders at the time of the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1820s (late)-1830s (early) - The population of the area consisted of approximately 150 Choctaw, along with white settlers and slaves.
  • 1830s - As more white settlers came to the area, the French left, returning to New Orleans or moving farther west.
  • 1842 November 29 - Ouachita County was established.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Ouachita County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Ouachita County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Court

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1876-1946 County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Guardian records 1876-1911; Letters of administration 1876-1922; Letters of testamentary 1876-1946; Probate record index 1876-1880; Probate records 1880-1890; Wills 1876-1901.

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Ouachita County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ouachita County, Arkansas Genealogy:


- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Companies G and H
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 11th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dockery's) (Confederate)
- 33rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies B, D, F and K

Online Records

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Ouachita County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ouachita County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Ouachita County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Ouachita County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Ouachita County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Ouachita County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Ouachita County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Debbie Fenwick Ponder, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=795&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Ouachita County.”
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.